Connect with us


The Mid-Season NFL Awards Tracker

Get your mid-season NFL Award predictions! Let’s take a look at who might take home the trophies at the end of season! Is it too soon to call? Who cares!

Russell Wilson by Larry Maurer is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The Mid-Season NFL Awards Tracker

Estimated Reading Time: 5 Minutes

Let’s have a little mid-season fun.

We are going to give our best guess at who will win these awards at the end of the season based on the games played through week 8 of the NFL. Do you think that is going to stop me from cramming an entire season’s award into half of a season? Nope.

AP MVP Award

Winner: Russell Wilson, QB, Seattle Seahawks

Just watch this guy lead his team to another Super Bowl. So casual. So Russell. Stay thirsty, my friends.

In the running: Aaron Rodgers, Christian McCaffrey, Deshaun Watson, Lamar Jackson

AP Coach of the Year Award

Winner: Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco 49ers

Kyle Shanahan, John Lynch, and Jimmy G have flipped this club from the worst to the best club in the NFC, and maybe even better than the AFC. They’re already winning more games than they won last season.

In the running: Pete Carroll, Sean Peyton, Sean McDermott

AP NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award

Winner: Christian McCaffrey, RB, Carolina Panthers

“Dairy” Sanders, as some are calling him, is running past 11 defensive players and has a 5-yard distance between him and the next guy by the time he hits 15 yards. This is an amazing season. McCaffrey doesn’t slow down even for a guy who plays +90% of the Panther’s snaps. Insane.

In the running: Deshaun Watson, Lamar Jackson, Dalvin Cook, Michael Thomas

AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award

Winner: Stephon Gilmore, CB, New England Patriots

The best player on the best defense. Simple enough. Here’s looking at you Jalen Ramsey.

In the running: Myles Garrett, Nick Bosa, Devin McCourty

Pepsi Rookie of the Year Award

Winner: Gardner Minshew II, QB, Jacksonville Jaguars

This one may not hold due to the fact that Nick Bosa, Josh Jacobs and Jax teammate Josh Allen are having great years. So far Minshew has dominated rookie of the week awards winning 6 out of 8. I can’t fight the mania at this moment.

In the running: Josh Jacobs, Kyler Murray, Terry McLaurin, Nick Bosa, Josh Allen(DE)

AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award

Winner: Josh Jacobs, RB, Oakland Raiders

I would have gone with Gardner Minshew, but he most likely will have to hand the job back to Nick Foles. Not finishing out the season opens the door for Minshew to be eclipsed by other rookies. Jacobs has been strong for Oakland and barring injury I see him cruising through the rest of the season.

In the running: Gardner Minshew II, Kyler Murray, Terry McLaurin

AP NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Award

Winner: Nick Bosa, DE, San Francisco 49ers

3 Sacks and 1 interception in Week 8 have people going nuts. Nick Bosa is a problem… Oh yeah, he’s basically already missed 2 games because of a bye week and missing a game.

In the running: Josh Allen(DE), Devin Bush

AP NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award

Winner: Darren Waller, TE, Oakland Raiders

“I was in Baltimore, I was just like a vegetable,” Waller said. “I was getting high, literally, every day. Whatever I could get my hands on. Like opiates first, like oxy pills, stuff like that. Xanax, cocaine. Not caring about anything, any kind of consequences, or anything like that.”

– Darren Waller

He was with the Raiders in 2018, participating in 4 games. He was signed off the Raven’s practice squad on November 26th, 2018. So he participated, but this is one of the greatest comeback stories in the NFL. I encourage you to look into his path and see how he overcame his addiction to become the NFL success that he is today.

In the running: Dalvin Cook, Jimmy Garoppolo, Emanuel Sanders

Walter Peyton Man of the Year Award

Winner: Calais Campbell, DE, Jacksonville Jaguars

He’s just a good dude. And he is the NFL’s version of Andre the Giant, but with an even bigger heart.

In the running: One player nominated from each team

Art Rooney Award

Winner: Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Arizona Cardinals

Because I want him as my teammate and if played against him I know he’d treat his opponent with respect.

Deacon Jones Award

Winner: Myles Garrett, DE, Cleveland Browns

It could be a very tight race and the front runners look to be Shaquil Barrett and Myles Garret.

In the running: Shaquil Barrett, Cameron Jordan, Josh Allen(DE), The Bosa Bros

Baltimore made me. Duval raised me. New York saved me. I'm a Jags fan for life and don't ever disrespect it. I'm Duval Til' We Die #DTWD. Florida Gators over everybody. Dodgers to win it all. Since moving to NYC I have become a Brooklyn Nets fan and am still trying to pick a hockey team. Those are my main rooting interest. I'm the head NFL Writer for the Turf. You can also catch me on Amplified Network where I co-host a podcast called "60 minute suspension" highlighting all off field activity covering all sports. I'm also a very big hip hop fan. You may find some rhymes from my favorite songs in my writing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Editor’s Picks

Latest Articles